Tag Archives: chapter twelve

Chapter Twelve of The Gold in the Dark and a Writing Update

Illustration courtesy of the amazing Ally Grosvenor, as always.

The twelfth chapter of The Gold in the Dark is out! New chapters, complete with chapter illustrations, release every other Sunday at 11 AM EST. This week is a split POV chapter between Thurie and Tia. This chapter is a favorite of mine—well, really any chapter with Thurie is a favorite of mine. 😉 Thurie and Dunna were a pretty spontaneous addition to the narrative, but now looking at the book as a whole, I can’t even picture what it would look like without them. Funny, how letting your subconscious chew away at a book idea can work so well.

This week in writing updates… Specter is debuting in JUST ONE WEEK OMG. I can hardly believe it. I’m trying to keep calm, but it’s that sort of thing where all the little pre-debut tasks never end. Birthing a book baby is tough work!!! Blog posts, Instagram posts, miscellaneous promo, making posters—sometimes it seems the circus is never-ending. But even though life is a whirlwind right now, it’s the kind of whirlwind that I know I’ll look back fondly on later.

And if you’re just hearing about Specter for the first time, welcome! Specter is a YA paranormal thriller perfect for fans of Stranger Things, about a girl who suddenly starts seeing ghosts. The detailed blurb is below!

Blurb

Horror aficionado Lanie Adams should be thrilled when two eighties-era ghosts materialize in her bedroom. Yet after a fainting incident unbecoming of a horror nerd, she would rather her haunting just go away—the ghosts’ distorted, waterlogged voices and ice-cold auras are more terrifying than any movie. Enlisting the help of Ryan, an entirely-too-cute stoner, she makes it her mission to put the spirits stalking her to rest.

Some sleuthing reveals that their sleepy Connecticut town is host to a shadowy, decades-old conspiracy. If Lanie wants to say a final goodbye to her ghosts, she’ll need to keep digging. But it’s important to tread carefully. The culprit is still in town—and they’ll stop at nothing to keep the truth buried.

So if you’re a Stranger Things fan, please consider adding Specter to your Goodreads TBR or preordering at any book retailer. Even independent bookstores should be able to preorder Specter—and you can even request your local library order a physical or ebook copy!

All right, that’s all for now. Have a great rest of your weekend, and enjoy Chapter Twelve. ❤